go-tell-it-on-the-mountain1On the occasion of my being industrious.

4. “Go Tell It on the Mountain” by James Baldwin. In 2007, I decided to read the 10 greatest novels of all time, as determined by the public television series “American Masters.” Last month, I expanded that goal, aiming to read the 149 greatest novels, incorporating the “American Masters” list as well as selections from Modern Library and Time magazine. My plan is to read at least five classics a year, so it will take me at least 30 years to complete this project.

3. “Animal Farm” by George Orwell. This will be my 10th classic since 2007. I chose it because it’s only 116 pages long, and time’s running out to fill this year’s quota.

2. “Arts, Inc.: How Greed and Neglect Have Destroyed Our Cultural Rights” by Bill Ivey. I’m reading this one for my job. (Such dedication.)

1. “Twilight” by Stephanie Meyer. What can I say? I liked the movie a lot. I’m sure I’ll feel guilty “wasting” valuable book-reading time on chick lit, but I hear you can zip through these “Twilight” novels in a couple of days.

