On the occasion of the opening in seven days of “Frost/Nixon,” the movie I’ve been waiting more than a year to see.

frost-nixon18. “Last Chance Harvey.” Dustin Hoffman and Emma Thompson fall in love in London. I know this just by looking at the movie poster. Even if it’s a lousy film, the scenery is bound to be cool.

17. “Defiance.” Billy Elliot’s all grown up, and he’s running around the woods fighting Nazis with Daniel Craig.

16. “Nothing But the Truth.” Hollywood’s take on the Valerie Plame affair. Personally, I’m really ready to close the book on the Bush years, but I suppose I’ll keep an open mind about this one.

15. “The Brothers Bloom.” Mark Ruffalo and Adrien Brody star as conmen who – wait, stop. You had me at “Mark Ruffalo.”

14. “Waltz With Bashir.” An animated Israeli film about the country’s invasion of Lebanon. This year’s “Persepolis?”

13. “Valkyrie.” The premise of this one – Tom Cruise play a Nazi who plots to take down Hitler – sounds more interesting than the trailer makes it look.

12. “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.” Brad Pitt ages backwards and falls in love with Cate Blanchett. Sure. Why not?

11. “Australia.” The trailer for this Baz Luhrmann epic makes it look like a big-budget 1980s TV miniseries. And we all know how I feel about big-budget 1980s TV miniseries.

10. “The Wrestler.” Hey, look everyone! Marisa Tomei has gone and gotten herself cast in a movie that looks like it might be worth watching. Way to go, Marisa!

9. “Doubt.” Meryl Streep makes one scary looking nun.

8. “What Doesn’t Kill You.” The trailer suggests Mark Ruffalo’s character spends at least part of this film in prison. Here’s hoping for a shower scene.

7. “Nobel Son.” An Alan Rickman crime caper, co-starring Mary Steenburgen (welcome back!) and hotties Shawn Hatosy and Bryan Greenberg? I’m there.

6. “Gran Torino.” I don’t know a thing about this one except that it stars Clint Eastwood. That’s enough to earn it a spot on this list.

5. “The Reader.” Kate Winslet and Joseph Fiennes star as former lovers reunited in a war crimes trial in post-World War II Germany.

4. “Revolutionary Road.” The Richard Yates book is a classic about disillusionment in 1950s suburbia. I read it last year and loved it. And in the age of “Mad Men,” who doesn’t want to see Leo in a gray flannel suit?

3. “Slumdog Millionaire.” The National Board of Review just named this its film of the year. Good enough for me.

2. “Milk.” I’ll see this movie because it’s about a heroic gay American. But it co-stars James Franco, and even if it was about milk the drink and not Milk the man, I’d still probably pay to see it.

1. “Frost/Nixon.” I read the book. I saw the play. I just added the DVD of the original Frost/Nixon interviews to my Christmas wish list. This had better be worth the wait.

