On the occasion of time dwindling fast.

file-cabinet9. Restore order to my filing cabinet at work. My secret shame.

8. Restore order to my sock and underwear drawers at home. Sorry, this one’s too embarrassing to photograph.

7. Catch up on my work e-mail. I have messages from August waiting to be read.

6. Determine how much it would cost to replace our kitchen cabinets. The only thing keeping me from getting this done is mustering the energy to dial the telephone and request a free estimate from Sears.

5. Finish my reading list. I knocked “Go Tell It on the Mountain” off the list last week and finished “Animal Farm” yesterday. Two down, two to go.

4. Replace our bedroom blinds. I’ve been putting this off for two years. I’m hoping Blinds to Go or Blinds in a Day can help.

3. Sell my TV Guide collection. I have every issue published since April 4, 1987, except for a June 1997 edition with “Caroline in the City” star Lea Thompson on the cover. It’s time to let this one go.

car-damage2. Get my car fixed. I struck a column in a parking garage after my passenger, whose name begins with “A” and ends with “ndrew,” distracted me. I feel like Columbo driving around with this big dent in my bumper.

1. Send my Aunt Dolores some family photos. My poor, elderly aunt lives in Missouri and is no condition to come home to the Washington, D.C., area to see us, practically the only family she has left. I’ve been promising to send her pictures since last Christmas. I have no good excuse for putting this off, other than that I’m a lazy bastard.

 

