On the occasion of the opening of the “Frost/Nixon” film in four days.

bob-gunton6. Bob Gunton, “Elvis Meets Nixon” (1997). I watched this made-for-TV movie when it debuted on Showtime, but don’t remember much about it. The one thing I do recall is thinking that Gunton was surprisingly good. Then again, I’m getting old and my memory is failing me, so who knows?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

lane-smith15. Lane Smith, “The Final Days” (1989). A three-hour made-for-TV movie, one that deserved a bigger audience than it received. Smith, perhaps best known as Perry White on “Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman,” demonstrates his versatility here.

 

 

 

 

dan-akroyd4. Dan Aykroyd, “Saturday Night Live” (1975 to 1979). In the hullabaloo over the lack of a black cast member to portray Barack Obama on “Saturday Night Live,” it’s worth remembering the show’s early years, when a mustachioed Aykroyd offered the definitive Nixon of the era.

 

 

 

 

 

 

anthony-hopkins3. Anthony Hopkins, “Nixon” (1995). I saw this film when it debuted, but frankly I don’t remember a lot about it, other than the typically weird theatrical flourishes from director Oliver Stone. (Am I mistaken, or did this film show Nixon having a trippy dream sequence?) I remember thinking Hopkins was good in the role, although when I look at stills from the production, his facial appliances give him a distracting simian appearance.

 

 

stacy-keach2. Stacy Keach, “Frost/Nixon” (2008). Better than I expected. Andrew and I saw Keach’s portrayal in the Kennedy Center’s “Frost/Nixon” production last month. Like Frank Langella, the actor playing Nixon in the big screen version, Keach doesn’t resemble Nixon and isn’t built like him. Nevertheless, Keach manages to evoke his sense of sly self loathing better than just about anyone.

 

 

 

 

 

 

dan-hedaya1. Dan Hedaya, “Dick” (1999). Simply the best. The sneaky paranoia, the profanity, the selfishness – it’s all here. Hedaya’s performance is one of the highlights of a wonderfully silly little film.

