On the occasion of remembering why tomorrow morning used to be the most magical day of the year.

wwf-figures5. WWF action figures. In 1984, about the time I began realizing I was different from other boys, I asked Santa to bring me these. I think I was hoping my dad and brother would be impressed by my sudden interest in something “macho.” Santa obliged, but I don’t think I ever really played with these.

 

 

 

 

boba-fett4. Boba Fett large action figure. Santa brought me this in 1979 – and I hated it. I had no idea who Boba Fett was; it would be another six months before the character made his debut in “The Empire Strikes Back.” (I guess I didn’t remember Boba from his cameo in the “Star Wars Holiday Special” in 1978.) Looking back, I realize how foolish I was to turn up my nose at one of the coolest action figures ever produced.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

mash-military-base3. “M*A*S*H” toys. In ’82 or ’83, I received the entire line of “M*A*S*H” action figures, vehicles and playsets, including the military base. I had a lot of fun playing with this stuff, even though I didn’t become a “M*A*S*H” fan until my late teens. The real oddity here is why someone produced toys based on a very adult TV show.

 

 

 

 

 

 

six-million-dollar-man2. “Six Million Dollar Man” action figure. I owned several of these during the course of my childhood. According to one family photograph, I received at least one of them on Christmas Day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

star-wars-laser-pistol1. Star Wars laser pistol. This toy earns the top spot on this list because its presence in my life was so fleeting. I received it on Christmas morning in 1977 or 1978 and, soon thereafter, left it in the booth at the restaurant where my mom waited tables. (My memory tells me this happened later on Christmas Day, but what restaurant is open on Dec. 25?) Regardless, I never recovered this pistol after it left my hot little hands.

 

